• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

6.5 Creedmoor Muzzle Break Recommendations

Donelson Precision

Donelson Precision
Minuteman
Mar 3, 2023
Cameron, MO
Hello all! I am new to the PRS this year. I am shooting the production class with my Howa 1500 APC in a 6.5 Creedmoor. It has been shooting phenomenal, the problem is the recoil. The gun itself loaded out with the one piece mount from MDT and Athlon Optics Ares ETR 4.5-30x56, it still is weighing in under 17 pounds. I plan to add more weight but the forend of the factory chassis will only support so much. I currently am running the Precision Armament Hypertap Muzzle Brake. It has really helped in keeping my shoulder in the game and not beating the heck out of me. I am having a heck of a time staying on target with the recoil to spot my splash. In my last match I was squadded with 4 others who were also running a 6.5. The one who stood out the most for barely any recoil was a man who was running a Daniel Defense Delta 5 Pro with the 3 chamber Sidewinder from Area 419 from factory. I was also recommended the Ace Brake. One other in my squad had a custom 6.5 creed in a foundation stock weighing 20+ pounds with the Ace Brake on it. His Muzzle was moving around much more than mine even does. Just wondering if anyone has any experience with the 6.5 Creed on positional shooting and what Brake works best with the recoil to stay on target and spot the splash.

I have heard nothing but good things about the area 419 hell fire break . I still like my fat bastard break I love it .