• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

6.5 Creedmoor Neck tension

Martin Dimitrov

Private
Minuteman
Dec 7, 2022
Bulgaria
Hello i am new to reloading and need some help. I reload 6.5 Creedmoor with "Redding Type S Bushing Neck Die". I use Bushing size .288 without redding expander button i get 0.010" of neck tension. Accuracy is very good. When i attach redding expander button i get 0.003" neck tension. Is 0.010" of neck tension too much and should i use Expander buttton. Thank you!

With a .288 bushing you should not be getting .010 neck tension, how are you measuring and coming up with
this and what brass.

Martin,
W/O your location in your profile I'll just say that you , like most of us have weather that is not very conducive to going to the range , so you spend your time reading about the 6.5 ?
So , a few questions ;
1. What brass are you using ?
2. What is a case's neck wall thickness ?
3. What are sized case's OD at the case mouth and just above the neck/ shoulder junction with and W/O the expander ball ?
4. What weapon [rifle] are you reloading for ? Please include your "optics"

Martin,
W/O your location in your profile I'll just say that you , like most of us have weather that is not very conducive to going to the range , so you spend your time reading about the 6.5 ?
So , a few questions ;
1. What brass are you using ?
2. What is a case's neck wall thickness ?
3. What are sized case's OD at the case mouth and just above the neck/ shoulder junction with and W/O the expander ball ?
4. What weapon [rifle] are you reloading for ? Please include your "optics"
1. Brass are RWS
2. Wall thickness is 0.016
3. Size wihtout Expander Ball- At case mouth 0.286" and above the soulder is 0.285"