• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

6.5 PRC vs 6.5 Creedmoor

kdykstra97

Private
Minuteman
Apr 12, 2020
Michigan
My next rifle is going to be a 6.5 PRC or 6.5 Creedmoor. I will mostly be using it for target use but may occasionally take it hunting. What are the biggest differences between the two aside from velocity? I have no hands on experience with either, I have only ever shot larger cartridges. Thanks!

The better question might be 6.5 CM versus .260 Rem. I know the market sort of settled this one in favor of the CM, but there are plenty of folks here on the Hide ready to post up some "260 Master Race" memes. A .260 AI with the mag length to run it long is a pretty decent middle ground, even if it does mean rolling your own ammo. I've got a CM myself - shoot factory ammo for cheap, easy choice for lots of folks.

The better question might be 6.5 CM versus .260 Rem. I know the market sort of settled this one in favor of the CM, but there are plenty of folks here on the Hide ready to post up some "260 Master Race" memes. A .260 AI with the mag length to run it long is a pretty decent middle ground, even if it does mean rolling your own ammo. I've got a CM myself - shoot factory ammo for cheap, easy choice for lots of folks.
Damn troll...

BDF489D4-EF84-4BF5-A343-473B5CFD35C9.jpeg

Oh, and the answer to the OP, if he ignores my meme above, is 6.5 Creedmoor.

Not at safe pressures. A couple years back I pressure tested it and 62ksi was right around 48gr of RL-26 with a 147 at 2.810 in a SAAMI chamber. 2850ish fps.

@BoltActionBrotherhood where you at lol

Got any links?
All I’ve seen is averaging around 2900fps with 147 eldms.

read post #4 from the below link...