• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

6.5 x 47 Lapua

sandman2004

Private
Minuteman
Jan 31, 2010
Mooresville, NC
Well I just took the leap. Ordered a 6.5x47 Lapua from Tactical Rifles. Starting to plan the loading process. Any of you guys have any pet loads for your 6.5x47?

Re: 6.5 x 47 Lapua

I started playing with the light bullets, but discovered the heavy ones work much, much better in the wind, and are just as accurate.

I like the 142g SMK on top of Hodgdon H4350 powder. I'd suggest that you work up a load somewhere between 39.5 and 42.5 grains. Watch for a sticky bolt as you approach 42.5g and you'll be fine.

I run mine 0.010" off the lands, and have settled on 40.7 grains in my rifle.

My pet load is 38.0 grains Varget under the 123 scenar .010 into the lands with CCI 450 primers. Runs 2925 out of my 24" Brux and shoots very well!!

37.2 gr of R15 with a 123gr Lapua bullet. CCI 450 primer. Also works good with the 123 Hornady's. Gets me close to 2900 fps in a 25.5" Bartlein barrel.

What are you're barrel lenghts??

Don't mean to Hijack the thread. Sorry.

I was Just wondering,becasue I'm going to be having a 6.5x47 built as well.. I was told to use a 28" barrel.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: TiDavis</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Im getting a 22inch. That is what was suggested to me </div></div>

What will be using yours for, hunting, work, target shooting(What distances)??

I'm going to have a 26" barrel on mine. Why? I figured I'll start there and see what happens. I intend to target shoot exclusively with this rifle.

Gonna use it for play, some hunting, holes in paper. They said no prob reaching out to 1K with it. They said from 22 to 24 inch might get 50-70 fps.