• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

6.5CM to 6.5 PRC

MK3XXX

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Mar 1, 2013
    -
    I have a GA Precision with a templar v2 in 6.5 creedmoor that ive been shooting for a few years and love, i am also currently building a Bighorn Origin with a Proof barrel also in 6.5 Creedmoor that will double as a hunting rifle. When its time to rebarrel my GA I would like to try a new caliber and the 6.5PRC is most likely what i will try. Just wondering how easy/hard it would be for GA to change to the PRC, just a rebarrel and a magnum bolt face? Can the Templar V2 be changed to a magnum bolt face? Kind of a noob question but appreciate any replies.

Yes, a new magnum bolt since you can’t swap heads on the Templar bolts and a new 6.5 barrel. Will need to run 300WSM mags as well.

Shouldn’t need bottom metal, 6.5 PRC works using short action DBM just need different mags (300 WSM) which I advised of.
    This short magnums work just fine with short action AI magazine and bottom metal constraints.
    You can but WSM specific mags or modified 308 mags.

Shouldn’t need bottom metal, 6.5 PRC works using short action DBM just need different mags (300 WSM) which I advised of.
    Didn't see your post, I should have been more clear, if your hunting and shooting off hand, you might want to change your bottom metal. It’s up to what you want in a hunting gun.

Reactions: Pusher591
    This short magnums work just fine with short action AI magazine and bottom metal constraints.
    You can but WSM specific mags or modified 308 mags.

I was under the impression a modified AI mag would only allow roughly 2.92 OAL and I know the factory PRC is loaded to 2.94 or 2.95 OAL.