• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

6 creedmoor oal

Mauser48

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
May 17, 2018
Hey guys, new to this forum and am getting ready to load some 6 creedmoor for a newly built remage. Components I have are alpha 6 creed lrp brass, sierra 107 smk's, and h4350. My main question is how much jump do the 107s typically like? Should I just go with hodgsdon's load data and seat them to 2.8? What do you guys find is the best method to determine the max coal in your rifle? Any suggestions would be great since this is my first time really messing with adjusting coal to a specific rifle. Thanks!

Just measured the lands. They are at 2.705 from case head to bullet tip. This sounds quite a bit too short to me.

Just measured the lands. They are at 2.705 from case head to bullet tip. This sounds quite a bit too short to me.

You set the bullet in the case so it is just hitting the lands. Then measured the over all length to come up with 2.705?

You set the bullet in the case so it is just hitting the lands. Then measured the over all length to come up with 2.705?

Yes. I used the method where you take out the ejector and cocking piece and you keep seating the bullet a little deeper until there is no resistance on the closing or opening. The bolt would close at all until about 2.720. At 2.705 there was no resistance.

Don't think either of those tools are going to help me at this point. When a loaded round at 2.720 still wont chamber theres a problem. I'm leaning towards the barrel wasn't reamed correctly.

Don't think either of those tools are going to help me at this point. When a loaded round at 2.720 still wont chamber theres a problem. I'm leaning towards the barrel wasn't reamed correctly.