• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

6 dasher false shoulder fire forming tutorial for dasher newbs

Renomd

Supporter
Minuteman
Feb 13, 2017
Reno, NV
I'm a 6 dasher newbie, I needed a lot of help, which I got from accurateshooter members; but, I decided to make a detailed step by step tutorial on false shoulder fire-forming for the 6 dasher fireforming newbies (like me). It's intimidating if you have never done it. But the end results are amazing....

Specs:
26 inch bartlein barrel
1.555 chamber
272 no-turn neck
104 freebore
Defiance Deviant action

Start with Lapua blue box 6BR norma brass

Steps
1) Size up the neck: I used a 21st century expander mandrel die with the 264 expander mandrel
264 expander mandrel bought from Sinclair (not the turning mandrel FYI which is 0.001 different). Used imperial sizing wax, don't just use dry neck lube that stuff sucks.

2) Next make the false shoulder: Forster full length sizing 6mm Dasher die WITH DECAPPING ASSEMBLY REMOVED. This will require quite a few back and forth trials with your rifle. What I ended up doing was looking for the point where I had a decent amount of resistance the ENTIRE time when you close the bolt, and it should get harder right at the end. Dmoran calls this a "full crush"
Important to note when you remove the decapping assembly (not everyone does this), the neck size will be super tight (.253"), so I ended up re-expanding with a 243 sinclair mandrel (note .2675 is what 6BR brass comes as out of the box in my lot #). ALSO MUSHROOMING is NORMAL after making the false shoulder (see brass on right). Note, re-expanding with a 243 mandrel makes the mushroom go away (see brass on left)
IMG_4153.jpg