• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

6x284 benchrest rifle chamber ?

Ammo dog 2311

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 15, 2012
New york
Hi all, I bought a benchrest rifle from my gun shop. It has 6x284 marked on the barrel. I could not get much history on the rifle. My question is, how can I tell what it's chambered for ? I really want to shoot it but I don't reload. I was hoping I could get some ammo made for it if I could find out what ammo it takes. Should I bring it to a gunsmith ? I am new to the 6mm field so I have no experience in this caliber. Any suggestions would help. Thanks . Semper if !

Re: 6x284 benchrest rifle chamber ?

Sounds like a .284 necked down to 6mm(6.5-284 Norma necked to 6mm). You're not going to buy ammo for it. Additionally, you'll find barrels don't last long for the 6-284 (6.5-284 Norma necked to 6mm).

You'll have to use 6.5-284 brass, neck it down to 6mm and load your own.

It never hurts to have a smith inspect it and hopefully even get a copy of the chamber dimensions. Personally, if it were my rifle, I'd have the smith check out the barrel and see if it has life in it. If so, I'd get it set-back and re-chambered for something like 6mm BR or .243.

Your first concern is the neck diameter of the chamber. You need to find a smith who can remove the barrel and use a small hole gage to measure the neck. Then you can make decisions on the ammo.

Things to ask:
Is it a tight-neck chamber?
What twist is the barrel?
Is the barrel still in good shape?
Is this caliber worth investing in brass (Lapua brass = expensive) and dies?
BTW, what action is it built on and what stock does it have?