• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

7.62 NATO or 308 reloading?

AustinR

Private
Minuteman
Jan 11, 2012
Southern Illinois
Hello,

I'm new to reloading. I've read up on reloading and I'm only going to observe the first handloads made for my rifle, but I have a few questions on brass.

I have been shooting LC and WRA '67 M80 rounds and have a good amount of brass from these lots. I'm wanting to do loads with 168, 175 and 200 SMK and be able to make repeatable hits to around 800 yards.

1. Would NATO brass be sufficient for a 200 grain Sierra Matchking with 40-43 grains of powder? All I've read on 200 grain bullets with a 308 have used better commercial 308 brass. And would the reduced volume in NATO brass decrease the ideal powder load?

2. For 168 and 175 grain bullets, can the accuracy that you guys have with lapua brass be repeated with NATO brass?

Ultimately, I'm trying to decide if I should purchase lapua brass or try reloading my NATO brass.

Thank you for tolerating my ignorance,

Austin

Re: 7.62 NATO or 308 reloading?

id get the lapua brass. I think it's worth the money.

it will be superior to the "nato" brass ( im not sure what that is , you mean LC or WCC ? )

if the nato brass has a lower case capacity then the lapua ,then the lapua will be able to handle more powder which means higher velocity.

you should think about the smallest group you can get from a particular charge weight , and not focus on a maximum charge weight or high velocity.

i wouldn't hesitate on the lapua brass

I'd personally just rock on with the NATO brass.