• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

700 Milspec 5R Build

GTGunner

Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 1, 2011
Central Florida
I am new to long range shooting so I am learning as I go. This R700 bolt action in 308 is my first precision rifle build. Here are the stats so far:

- Nightforce NXS 5.5-22x56 HS/ZS
- NF 20 MOA base
- Leupold Mark 4 Rings (High)
- AICS Stage 2 (will swap out after I complete the break-in)
- Timney trigger
- Butler Creeks caps

Still to do:
- Barrel will be threaded for a suppressor (Thunderbeast 30P-1)
- PCR bolt knob installed and Cerakoted Mil Black
- Barreled action Cerakoted in Mil Black after break-in is complete

Here are my first snaps (more to follow as I continue to mod the rifle):

Infidel_0044.jpg

Infidel_0046.jpg

Infidel_0047.jpg

Infidel_0048.jpg

Re: 700 Milspec 5R Build

How to Break-in a Barrel

You've pieced together a very nice starting build. Be sure to updated with range reports.

Now don't waste your time and go ahead and drop it in the AICS
smile.gif

You will be pleased with this rifle, I have 1 in a 300 win mag and its incredible how accurate it is, at 200 yards half inch 5 shot groups are the norm wit 190 grn match bullets.

Right on! Like your build. If u end up not liking the feel of the aics then u can sell it later for minimal depreciation. If u sell the rifle then u still have a nice scope for the next rifle.

What im saying is that your upgrades are not permanent so they are flexible. When i started out (and im still a newbie), i bought lots of upgrades. Some i liked, some i didnt. The ones i didnt like i sold like the aics stock.

You spend money on a custom bedded stock or blueprinting the action then its permanently tied to that rifle.