• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

80% jig and tooling.

Status
Not open for further replies.

tillroot1

Private
Minuteman
Jan 26, 2004
California
I am wondering if I could get any opinions on buying a jig and tooling for AR15 80% lowers? I do not have a drill press and would be using a router and hand drill. I am totally new to this and dont want to buy several times to get things right. What works and is user friendly? Thanks for any help with making a decision what and where to buy.

Last edited:
Reactions: The D
Never seen it done with a hand drill only. Closest thing i can think of would be a jig for a router. Those look like they work well enough. Even a drill press isnt ideal. Ive smoked bearings in a drill press after only a few.

Reactions: tillroot1
i modified my original post to include router, as I said, I am new to this. just looking for help.

Last edited:
I have the gen 1 jig, I do have a drill press, the milling was easy if you have any routing experience and go slow, follow their instructions. Can be drilled with hand drill but I'd at least try to find someone to take it to. The 3/8 holes to start the milling is fine to hand drill, pin holes I'd question. Good luck

80% Arms Easy jig 3. https://www.80percentarms.com/ - used their gen 1 jig, pretty easy. Gen 3 is supposed to be better and does AR15, AR308 and AR9s

5D Tactical jig - https://www.5dtactical.com/multiplatform-80-lower-jig-p/40105-mp.htm - never tried this one.

Both require a hand drill (drill press preferred) and a router (mill preferred).

Follow the instructional video and go slow (most important), vacuum the chips often, use cutting fluid.