• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

A little too much pressure?

TN-MadDog

Minuteman
Feb 6, 2009
Ooltewah, TN
I'm just getting into reloading for precision rifles. I have loaded off and on for a long time for rifle and pistol but have been out of it for several years. I am trying to work up loads for my GAP Crusader.

Once fired Lapua brass neck sized only.
175gr SMKs
Loaded .005 off the lands
Varget
Loaded 11 increments of four rounds each starting at 40grs and ending with 44grs.

44grs is above book max (Sierra and Hornady) but many loads listed on this site go that high and higher.

I had no pressure signs until the last group with 44grs. I detected no bolt lift difference but two of the four rounds showed some signs as you will see in the pictures.

Since I really have no need to max out velocity, how much would you recommend backing off as a max load for this rifle?

I would appreciate some input since I really don't have anyone locally to go to for advice.

Thanks,

Joe

GAPloadprimers.jpg

GAPloadprimer2s.jpg

Re: A little too much pressure?

In this case steel was stronger than the brass case. Speed is not always king. Some of my more accurate loads have been "middle of the road" charges. Of the loads you fired which was more accurate? That's the load I would go with.

I only loaded four rounds each so that was not much of a sample size. Of course, that last load was the best with all in pretty much one hole. There were two loads (42.5grns and 42.8grns) that looked pretty good so I will back down and work in that range more.

Based on the pressure signs at 44.0, do you think that I will be safe and reasonable backing down 1 to 1.5 grains?

Thanks,

Joe

Here are groups from those mid-range loads (numbers 6 and 7)