• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

A long action Rem 700. What Caliber?

Rustybroadhead

Anschutz North America
Minuteman
May 15, 2012
Alabama
I have to rebuild the first gun I ever bought myself. It began its life as a Rem 270 BDL so it is a long action. I would like to turn it into something that I can shoot in a few local tactical matches with but would likely take deer hunting a few times a year as well. I can not make up my mind what to chamber it in. I have been leaning toward a 6.5x55 but I can't decide whether to make it an AI or not. My biggest concern with this cartridge as improved is the complete lack of loading data (that I can find). I am just getting my bench built so I can start reloading so I am a complete amateur in this department. I like the idea of buying factory ammo though it may not be quite as accurate it would be the simplest way to fire form brass. If anyone has any good loads for 6.5x55AI they are willing to share, I would love to have them. The "AI" version would give me better brass life and the option of loading it hotter if I wanted to.

The other chambering I am considering is the 6.5-06. Probably a little easier to load for, and brass is very easy to come by. I have read a lot about the 280AI but I really think that may be more than I want. My home range only goes to 700yds so I am not sure the additional recoil is worth it. I just was reading something about the 6mm remington... That was designed for a short action but with the high b/c bullets actually works better in a long action. What is everyone's opinion?

A side note... I am not terribly concerned with barrel life. I work 60+ hrs. each week so my range time is pretty limited.

Thanks in advance!