• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Accessories make the outfit...

joelinux

hed weezul
Minuteman
Apr 1, 2019
Hello you wonderful peoples!

So, as I've posted in previous posts, I'm a beginner, and I have a plan:

I'm starting out with a Ruger Precision in 6.5 Creedmoor. I'm going to get as good as I can with that rifle, then eventually move up to something much more ELR/ULR (Either a .375CT or .416B).

Buuuut, my wife has stated that I can only keep one rifle at a time, so, in an attempt to avoid re-buying equipment, I need equipment that can be useful for the 6.5CM as well as the ELR/ULR I will eventually buy.

I've settled on a Nightforce ATACR 7-35×56 F1 for my scope, as I've been told it will be useful at ELR/ULR, as well as (overkill?) 6.5CM.

Now, I need to know about the rest of my equipment:

Scope rings (should that be in the Scope thread area?)
Rear bags
Bipod
Mat (If that makes a difference?)
Ballistic Calculator? (I understand some break down at ELR/ULR)
Spotting Scope (I plan on doing this with a buddy)

I also want to know if it is worth it to try to get an internal laser boresight, or if a front barrell-mounted one is "close enough" If so, which should i get for the 6.5CM?

Reactions: seansmd
I'm not sure about "keeping" one rifle at a time but if you are only allowed on rifle look at a Savage. You can swap barrels and bolt heads relatively easy

Reactions: The DFC
^^^^^Exactly-or an Accuracy International. Point is you can adhere to the 1 rifle only rule but can have more than 1 caliber by swapping barrels easily. LMT for a gasser does same thing.

Tough crowd.

The hide is a pretty dangerous place nowadays to put out any kind of personal or emotional posts :ROFLMAO: