• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Accuracy nodes for 115 DTACs

Jaxdialation

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 24, 2011
Colorado
I'm working up loads for my 243AI. At this point I'm fire forming very accurate loads using H4350 + DTAC.

I anticipate that around 2980 - 3005 will be an accurate node based upon my testing so far during fire forming out of a 7.5 twist barrel.

<span style="font-weight: bold">I'm not looking for "loads"</span> I'm interested in velocity/accuracy nodes. Are there any above that 3000fps range? I have plenty of room to push the bullet faster, but how far do I have to go to hit another node? Any caliber using these DTAC 115s would help.

Thanks in Advance!

Re: Accuracy nodes for 115 DTACs

I'm still learning myself, so I may not be completely correct; however, I was under the impression that accuracy nodes were specific to each gun, mostly based on the bbl length.

Maybe I'm missing out on an shortcut... if all projectiles only need to reach a specific speed, finding a load would be a direct science rather than somewhat of an art form.

Okay, I guess my understanding of the nodes is that they are somewhat similar to a 1/4 mile drag time; you can hit the quarter mark at a higher mile per hour but still loose the race to a guy who's car accelerated more quickly, while finishing at a lower mile per hour.
How this relates here is the node is more the timing of the bullet exit (from the barrel) rather than the speed that it leaves the barrel. Different powders = different rates of acceleration.

- Frank

I think you would be surprised how useful the answer to my question is. The variable you mention are interesting, but just aren't that significant in this case, because 115 dtacs dictate
twist rates and barrel lengths.