• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Acetone/case lube?

mike1128

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 10, 2008
Mississippi
Hey guys, was wondering your thoughts on pouring some acetone on a rag and wipeing down the cases would work with removing the lube?

Re: Acetone/case lube?

Yup that works just make sure there is no actual liquid. You would not want that to wick by and contaminate powder or primer

It'll also work on nail polish...

Kidding. I am an apostate in that I manually wipe my resized cases down with.........diluted Windex. It cuts the Dillon lube nicely and, as I've been doing it this way for several years, I've seen no issues regarding case life or coloration.

Thanks for your replys, I'd rather wipe them down individually then send them to the tumbler again for a few hours. Just my personal preference.

Acetone will work fine. Not sure what lube your using. I use imperial and just wipe it off with a dry paper towel. I clean the case necks (outside) with never dull before sizing.

Kinda overkill for a water soluble compound but it will sure work. Alcohol would
be a little easier on you and your wallet.

"Alcohol would be a little easier on you and your wallet."

Roger that. Acetone is a tremendous solvent, cut the oily residue on cases fast. And cut the oil outta your skin just as fast!

I prefer to use mineral spirts/oderless paint thinner on a cloth, it's not so volatile.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: rem_.308</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I use the RCBS lube on my cases </div></div>
RCBS Case Lube-2 is water-based. A wet rag should do it.

Damn I just throw em in the tumbler and let em roll for a bit then uniform the primer pockets and that makes sure there is no media stuck in there.