• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

advice for new elr shooter

johndoe297

Private
Minuteman
Jul 12, 2021
utah
i'm just getting into elr, and i'm wondering where about the typical zero range is for the sport. i have a decent setup, but i'm having a heck of a time even theory crafting.

i'm running a ruger rpr .338 with a vortex strike eagle, and a 20 MOA mount. thus giving me a 50 MOA total offset from the built in base ruger puts on the chassis. i know some guys run MOA offsets way higher than 50, but where are you all zeroing at? i usually do a standard 100 yrd, but i don't think it's even possible on this rig. i do have 110 MOA of total travel, so 55 down without the zero stop. with that installed, i drop to 47 total, and only about 23 down.

does anyone know of a ballistic calculator that one can plug canted offset into? or should i just drop to a 0 MOA mount? this is a bit frustrating because i feel like i'm just guessing at where to start. making a drop table without a real zero just spits out numbers that don't make sense (to me at least).

I’m confused, but your starting point should be the range. Just go shoot 100y for zero. You’ll dun know foshizzle then.

I’m not sure where you are getting the 50 moa offset from. You’re scope is 110 moa per vortex. Plus you have a 20 moa base, which puts you at 130 moa total travel on elevation.

You don’t put your scope base into a calculator, as it’s built into your zero. I can’t tell you if you should drop to zero moa mount, but you should be able to zero just fine at 100y with at least a whole rev to spare on your scope.