• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Advice on how to learn LR precision shooting

lordt313

Private
Minuteman
May 27, 2007
Louisville. KY
Hello, I am what I think to be a fairly proficient shooter, I have never had any formal training or instruction, everything I know of shooting has come from videos, books, and Outdoor channel. A couple of years ago I shot out to 700 yds with a friend who was a competative LR shooter, with is instruction I was semi-accurate. I want to learn to shoot at that distance and have very little knowledge of what I am lacking as far as fundementals. My question is this: where could I find training/instruction on the basics of shooting as I am sure I have some pretty bad habits given my self-taught method? Addtionally, would you more experienced shooters consider this a vital prerequisite to learning LR shooting?

Thanks,
Taylor

Re: Advice on how to learn LR precision shooting

Correct fundamentals are as important to LR shooting as they are to any other kind of shooting - and probably more so because your errors are magnified at longer distances. Maybe check out Lowlight's OnLine training, then go take a basic course from a reputable outfit. I've been doing this for a while and I'm still taking - and learning from - basic courses.

Frank, you owe me a finder's fee.
laugh.gif