• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Affordable .223 plinking bullets

spaniel

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 26, 2006
I am new to the AR platform and am waiting for my .223 dies and brass to arrive to begin reloading. I plan to use 50gr Vmax for coyotes but I am looking for an economical option for plinking bullets. I shoot iron sights only, so I am not looking for that last .1 MOA in accuracy.

I would prefer something that, current panic aside, is typically readily available.

Re: Affordable .223 plinking bullets

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mscott</div><div class="ubbcode-body">How about these? http://www.topbrass-inc.com/reloading-supplies/product_details.php?category_id=28&item_id=343 </div></div>

mscott, do you have any experience with these? The marking looks extreme...I don't need benchrest accuracy but I don't want a shotgun pattern at 100 yard either. I'm curious what real life experience with these is?

Thanks for both of your suggestions.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: JoeBUtah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I've bought from Everglades and RMR. Both provide good but economical .223 bullets

The problem is demand right now is way over the top of supply. </div></div>

Thanks for the links.

Yes, everyone is out now...I've got enough to get me by until some panic settles down. That's why I'm asking the question, it's harder to compare when everyone is out of stock (and some sites remove the items out of stock).

I've never used those, but found them a couple days ago. I have used the .30 cal pulled bullets from them and they work fine. Those marks do look a bit harsh, but as long as you aren't putting them through a can I wouldn't worry.