• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report Alco 7mm (.284" ) 168 grain RBT projectiles

clcustom1911

Muppet Extraordinaire
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Oct 23, 2017
    The River in Arizona
    Good morning,

With the introduction of the Hornady A-Tip rounds, and there being no choices for 7mm....

I had been eyeballing the Alco 7mm offerings for a few months and decided decided to order some 168 grain aluminum tip, rebated boat tail bullets. I was able to order them on 4/30 and received them on 5/3. Customer service was absolutely top notch and the folks at Alco are absolutely wonderful to work with. I will order more likely based solely on that experience.

Here are the bullets:

IMG_20190505_1202339.jpg

IMG_20190505_1202536.jpg
    IMG_20190505_1203256.jpg

Info on the website says they are 1.5" long, I measured 10 out of the 100 I ordered, and the average was 1.533. Weights were 168 +/- 0.1gr. The bearing surface length was .7"

I'm going to pair these with my Atlas Development Group brass for my 7mm RemMag.

IMG_20190406_1603456.jpg

I want to get y'all some confirmation of the advertised G1 BC of .803 and some G7 numbers as I play with them and chase the accuracy dragon. My goal is to push these at least 2800 FPS out of my 24" barrel (not unreasonable).

With the advertised .803 G1 BC, DA of 4200, Temp 105 (typical of my long range desert spot in summer), I should be supersonic to 1850+.

Take care and be safe.

Reactions: jb313
    I'll be the first to guess that their claimed BC is way higher than actual.