• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

All around hunting/shooting range finder.

flyfisher117

Professional Milk Jug Hunter
Minuteman
Sep 25, 2010
Idaho
Just looking for input but how important is it to get an $800 range finder? Do the high end ones really, truthfully do something that a cheaper one doesnt? While I try to buy the best scopes/binos I can afford, I cant afford the "best" I just want the "best for my money and intended uses." When college is over I can upgrade.

I am wanting to get a range finder that I can use for archery and rifle hunting. But more importantly I want one that I can use for shooting. I am still learning longer range shooting (sub 400 yards), my problem is that where I shoot I dont know my exact yardage. I dont have a nice range with berms set out every 100 yards. I live in the mountains of Idaho so a lot of my shooting is done on closed off logging roads or in some cases its me setting up a target on a far hill side and using the log landings as a shooting pad. I try to step off my distance as best I can but when you have to cross a near vertical ravine it gets tough.

I dont want to set a budget yet, There is no way I can afford an $800 Leica, but I would like to stay in the $300-$400 range. If for $500 I can get a stellar finder then I dont mind spending it, but $300-$400 is where I want to stay. I would like a range finder that will do at least 300-500 yards, but if I can get a decent one that will do more than that is great. I am not worried about the whole "bow hunter angle technology" that a lot of them have, I dont hunt from tree stands and in all honesty it will only be used hunting 30-40% of the time, so again if one comes with it then cool, but its not a need.