• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Ammo, grains and twist ratio...

Boltactionguy87

Private
Minuteman
Jan 29, 2021
Minnesota
Hello,

I'm in the market for a .308 bolt action rifle and I have 3 boxes of 180 grain .308 win. I would like to keep this grain size but I'm new to the whole what twist rate works thing. I hunt and I like to hit targets from time to time. I would like my .308 to be my long mid range rifle but is 180 grain too much? Been trying to find a pointed 180 grain but so far no success. Also what twist rate works best?? I've read a 1:11 is good? Tikka T3X. I think Winchesters Model 70 has a 1:10 twist rate?

I have guns that can reach out there just they're smaller is all. My last .308 was a Savage and I was given little info about it. It said model 10 but had the axis synthetic stalk??? I don't know. Hahaha. But anyways looking for info if anybody has any about this caliber grain size and what works best. Looking to reach out and touch something. I like the punching power of 180gr but I might consider dropping a little so I can have that pointed round for extra legs. I know most will say go shoot and find out i don't have the budget to buy both and go shoot.

Indoor ranges dont have the distance im going to be shooting out to. Plus at gunstores ranges I don't like to shoot a gun unless I am absolutely sure I am going purchase that gun. Just kind of a pet peeve I've always had.

Question on Ammo.
Does anybody know somebody who loads or reloads 156 grain 6.5x55 swede?? I bought a 1911 Gustov Swedish Mauser and I'm looking for that grain specifically. I was reading and was told that round helped make that gun. I know of an FFL dealer if needed to make the sale if thats allowed here. Im a brand new member.