• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Ammo selection for a RimX/Proof build...not competing with it

BravoSector1

Sergeant
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Oct 26, 2011
    Idaho
    I recently took a RimX barreled action on trade and wanted to get an idea of what you guys would use for ammo. I'm not competing with the stick. Casual hunting (suppressed) and pinking. Proof Research carbon fiber 16.5" barrel on the action right now. I have zero background with respect to precision shooting in .22LR. Don't want to break the bank on ammo but also don't want to run CCI standard either. What might be the go to ammo for this rig? Thank you in advance.

Eley Contact has been a great hunting/plinking round for me.
    I saw Womfat from YouTube joke that it's the 338 Lapua of the 22 LR world... :ROFLMAO:

YMMV, happy shooting

I'd just test some ammo in the price range you are comfy with and sort from there. I made a fair amount of misconceptions concerning ammo when I first started shooting 22LR for high levels of accuracy. I totally discounted Eley ammo as a whole after firing some in one rifle.
    For casual hunting and plinking your choices are many, for all you know, CCI mini mags may be the ticket, but defeat the purpose of the can.

Wolf shot 2 moa at 100 yards for me out of a Rim-X and proof combo.
    And wolf is just eley in a different box. Unfortunately the ammo considered the go to these days ( lapua and sk) is limited in availability while most types of eley is more easily available. I have had good luck with even the lower end eley club and contact ( different rifle) but you never know until you test in yours.

Reactions: AmmoFort
    I will add this to the conversation. Rimfire accuracy is not as complex as folks here seem to make it.