• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Annealing Brass - Science vs Myths

stevenc23

Minuteman
  • Oct 21, 2013
    Denver, CO
    Kind of long winded but bare with me. I am relatively new to long range precision shooting and have definitely been bitten by the bug. Started with factory ammunition and now have taken up reloading. Annealing was the next step in my progression. As is my nature I read everything I could and picked the brains of accomplished shooters and reloaders.

Like most topics it isn’t always easy to separate fact from fiction. And with annealing I found lots of opinion based on personal experiences but very little science. With my science background and a degree in Chemistry I knew much of what was being said in these forums and elsewhere simply was not true.

For those interested in some light reading here are a few good articles and discussions to read to come to you own conclusions

https://vacaero.com/information-reso...dge-brass.html

https://web.archive.org/web/20160131...ssertation.pdf

http://forum.accurateshooter.com/thr...brass.3868113/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4cmxWaMpOw

FWIW these are the conclusions I have come to based on scientific evidence.