• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

[Another] Newbie seeking advice on economic starter rifle. 11-VT?

deadly_punk

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 20, 2012
KY, USA
I am an avid -if young- shooter and hunter, but I'm relatively new to the precision rifle game. I've had the opportunity to shoot with and train with some excellent BR shooters over the past few years, but haven't had cash available to invest in my own rifle. I'm currently vacationing in Afghanistan with the US Army and will return to the US sometime after the start of the new year. Looking to spend some of my deployment pay on a present from me to me. (I've already warned my wife.)

At that time I'm looking to buy an entry level, bolt-action rifle capable of reasonable accuracy (1 MOA out to 500) with capacity to be upgraded later on in life as I have resources to invest. Further details:

Rifle alone, I'm looking to spend <$700 OTD. Rings and optics already on hand.

I plan on sticking with .308 Win chambering. It will be a long time before I out-grow the round. I already reload and have relatively a lot of .308 components on hand.

I'm willing to buy a rifle that needs an upgraded stock, but I'd be thrilled if I could at least start working with it before upgrading, as that may have to wait for further funds to become available.

Bells and whistles aren't my style (Over-sized bolt handle and DBM fall in this category for me). All I really want is a usable trigger (I'm satisfied with AccuTrigger on my rimfire rig) and heavy/varmint contour barrel on a reputable action. I am biased towards Savage, but open to hearing other options.

Looking hard @ the Sav 11VT from DSG. GunsAmmo_VarmintRifles - Dick's Sporting Goods

Other options that might fit the bill at the price point?