• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Any Advice on stocks?

ace31

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 27, 2009
Va Beach, Va/Orange County, Ca
Hey guys, I have a few Remington 700 .308's sitting on their original stocks and wanted to change them out. Unfortunately I'm fairly new to bolt actions and was hoping that you guys could point me in the right direction. As of right now I would not even know the name of one company to turn to for a stock. I dont want to spend too much but at the same time Im open to all kinds of suggestions.

I will appreciate any opinions, recommendations and comments on what company or stock to go with?

Thanks in advance

P.S. Totally of topic but what does it mean when someone writes ttt at the end of a thread?
Aaron

Re: Any Advice on stocks?

Aaron, There are a lot of options when it comes to after market stocks. The high end 500-800$ would be AICS, McMillan's, Manners. There are others like HS Precision that are 250-400$. If you go with a stock like Manners, McMillan, HS Precision you also have to get it bedded 150-250$. AICS stock are bolt down ready you don't need bottom metal or bedding, just bolt down and go but there 800$ comes with 5 round detachable mag.

Thanks huntinaz, now once I bed the stock does that mean everytime I remove the rifle from the stock I have to get it bedded again? How can I tell if a stock has been bedded?

Do some research on the above mentioned stocks. Also check out Bell & Carlson and Choate Tactical stock on the lowere end.

Try to find some shooters near you so you can try out a few different styles.