• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Any experience with Douglas barrels?

Basic user

Private
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Oct 11, 2013
    I know Douglas has been famous for their barrels for a long time but other than that I have no real experience with their barrels. So I guess my first question is anyone here use them with good success? And lastly and more importantly has anyone had them true up an action and barrel it? Looking to see if their gunsmiths do good work. Thinking about sending an action off to them for barreling.

Thanks guys.

Used them on a benchrest gun in .308. The barrel was phenomenal

Reactions: MG&L
    "Cro789: Used them on a benchrest gun in .308. The barrel was phenomenal."

Can I ask who barreled that benchrest gun for you?

had them just spin up a .20 cal barrel for a .204 build i had done and i was very pleased with it. turn around time wasn't bad at all and the price was very fair. would use them again.

Got one for a 6mm AI project. Shot great after break in.

Wow. I keep reading over and over that button barrels are just finickier than cut rifled version and was torn.

You will not be disappointed with a Douglas premium barrel, nor will you be disappointed by having them true your action.

Reactions: MG&L
    I'm assuming not as they have doing it for quite a while; though, why is everyone paying 4-5 times as much for sub half minute groups, when the guys post above these says he gets sub half moa groups? I'm confused.

I'm assuming not as they have doing it for quite a while; though, why is everyone paying 4-5 times as much for sub half minute groups, when the guys post above these says he gets sub half moa groups? I'm confused.

Because they choose to.