• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Any problems with storing sized/primed rifle brass?

fxdrider

Deplorable
Minuteman
  • Jan 3, 2014
    Fredericksburg, Virginia
    Go easy.... Was thinking of prepping a bunch of .308 and 6.5 Creedmoor brass, maybe 300-500 pieces or more - up to and including sizing and priming, and then just storing it until I need to finish loading(working up new loads, matches, etc.). Are there any problems with doing that? Does the sized brass spring back any amount that could affect neck tension or anything else? After 29 years of reloading, I should know the answer to this, but but it's something I've never tried it before. I've always charged cases and seated bullets fairly quickly after sizing and priming. Maybe 2 days in between at the most. I know sized, primed brass is available from sellers - but that doesn't necessarily mean it's a good way to go. Figured I'd asking before diving in....

Reactions: simonp
    I’ve done this with .bulk 223 for years without issue. I keep them in ammo cans with desiccant though. Some cans might sit for a year or more. The spring back that’s going to occur happens within the first second of pulling your brass from the die. I’m not sure what you’re asking I guess.

I prep brass, and used to prime it. No issue as long as it starts dry. Makes loading in a single stages tolerable.

Just store the primed brass like you would store a primer and you will be good to go!