• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors Any Red Dot Preference...Leupold, Trijicon, etc

ocherp

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 21, 2006
Gilbert, AZ
I'm in the market for a red dot that will be used on a Glock project I'm working on. I've been looking at the Trijicon RMR, specifically the Dual Illuminated ones. What do you guys think about the RMR? Thanks.

Re: Any Red Dot Preference...Leupold, Trijicon, etc

I'm thinking about doing something similar. Download the CDNN catalogue they have a great deal on the Docter Optic red dot.

Give Burris Fastfire a look. I have been running 2 of them for the last 9 months on (1) Glock 17, (2) simrad mount on top of a Leupold Mk. 4 on a HS Precision RDT 308 platform. Have been completely satisfied with their performance, especially on the Glock system. It runs with a Gemtech Tundra unit spitting out 147 gr. loads seems like a match made in heaven.

I have a Burris unti on my 10 guage turkey gun , that things gets the hell beat out of it and still runs fine , great site for the money

I have 2 fastfire II's and 2 RMR Dual Illuminated.

Both are good. Both work well. In the end, I find myself wishing that both the Dual Illuminated ones were the Battery operated type.

After playing with a battery operated type of RMR the dot was just sharper, brighter, higher contrast and smaller than the Dual Illumination versions.

At the same time, I find myself liking the simplicity of the dual illuminated versions. I have one on an SPR as a fast secondary sight. As a secondary or backup sight, I find it comforting that it doesn't need batteries. Still the tritium will die over time. As a primary on a pistol, they can be a bit difficult to pick up.