• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Anybody here install a Woodstove

Jigstick

“What’s the matter colonel sanders….chicken?”
Minuteman
  • Jul 21, 2017
    Pittsburgh PA
    Have any of you guys installed a wood stove in your homes? I’m looking to install a Vermont Castings stove in my basement. Need some guidance.

Im a former stone masonry contractor and have built chimney's and fireplaces from the ground up. Installing a stove should be pretty simple...unless its one of those free standers and you have to cut a hole in your roof.

Got a picture, what do you need to know?

I installed a regency classic in my basement 23 years ago, just got done stoking the evening’s fire… what do you want to know?

Have any of you guys installed a wood stove in your homes? I’m looking to install a Vermont Castings stove in my basement. Need some guidance.
    My wife and I have been talking about this for some time now. Curious what others have to say as well.

We talked to our insurance agent and our rates obviously will go up but not really as bad as I figured it would be

Venting is of the utmost importance. Make sure to maintain proper clearances to combustibles at all times. The pipe is ridiculously expensive, but don’t run it shorter than 2’ above any part of the roof within 10’ laterally. Bout all I can say without specifics.

Reactions: Dead Eye Dick
    I’m currently finishing our basement. Poured concrete foundation reinforced with fiber, wire mesh, and rebar. Entire basement is under grade.

Current status of the basement is concrete floor, framed and sheetrocked walls which are finished painted. Ceiling isn’t in yet.

My plan is to pour a concrete pad for the hearth. Maybe dye it and put a smooth finish on it so…or put slate tile over it.