• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

AR-15 help me decide

DroidSniper

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 9, 2011
Mount Vernon, Ohio
www.linkedin.com
I plan on building and AR. It will be an M4 type weapon.

I want a lightish fighting/self defense rifle. I will be using PSA for the lower and upper receiver and most of the parts.

I had a few questions.

what are the pro/cons of a piston driven system vs di
Free float hand guard vs standard.
What are some good iron sight options.

etc..

Looking to keep the build under 1k.

TIA

It's my first build.

Re: AR-15 help me decide

As a united states infantry marine and honor grad of advanced urban combat school if ur lookin to protect urself inside your home and up to 200 meters get a eo-tec sight,(red dot). Those things are amazing for close quarters combat. Piston system will be cleaner, and free float you can never go wrong but if it's up to 200 meters standard is plenty lethal. Also look into the break down stock and the shorter barrel if it's cqb rifle. If not standard rifle is max effective range is 550 on point target (1 human), and 800 meters on area target (group of ppl) but you can hit point targets at 800+ if good enough.