• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

AR-15 lite build questions

Bluegrass Colonel

Private
Minuteman
Jan 24, 2024
Bethpage, TN
I am a noob regarding builds. I am going to first build 2 nearly identical light-weight AR-15's for my wife and me. I have already purchased light weight barrels, triggers, and optics. I have lowers.

I will sacrifice a few ounces for durability. (Yes. I realize there are direct tradeoffs.)

A couple questions:

1. I need stocks that are (obviously) light weight, but have adjustable cheek weld risers. I would prefer to add a couple ounces for one that is very solid when installed. I had been looking at Magpul PRS lite's, but the LOP on them is a concern. My wife is short with a short LOP. I prefer the major elements of the build to be identical.

2. I would appreciate suggestions on other parts (upper receivers, etc.), again as solid as possible while still light.

Thank you in advance.
BC

What optics are you running? In my experience, if the mount is lower 1/3 cowitness (1.60" for one piece mounts) or lower, an adjustable cheek riser isn't really needed, it's just extra weight. Any stock out there with an adjustable cheek is going to be relatively heavy, unless you get something janky.

Tangentially related, I watched some of the coverage from SHOT regarding the newer Magpul stocks and I think I may side step the MOE PR and check out the DT stock. The dual tension system sounds interesting and the fact that the DT stock has a SL footprint buttpad means I can put my Arisaka stock angle adapter on it and have a pretty chill set up at about 13 oz.

How much do you want to spend?