• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Ar-15 question on brand selection

bjohnson87

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 14, 2010
Greenville SC
Hey everyone im looking to purchase an ar-15 and also an ar-10 upper eventually what brands are very well made and are very highly talked about im new to the semi auto guns so anyone that can give there 2 cents would be great thanks guys

Re: Ar-15 question on brand selection

I would have to say that you can't go wrong with Rock River Arms. Everything they do is really awesome for a production rifle. For your AR-10 needs, get with GA Precision. As I have yet to hear anything bad about them.

get the NM trigger and you won't be dissapointed. it's my fav on any semi auto rifle.

i dont not know if you are aware of it but an ar10 upper will not fit onto a standard ar15 lower. if you are looking at a production ar then i would say RRA but id suggest building one yourself. you get exactly what you want plus to experience of doing it

I don't think there is a hill of beans in difference in the lowers. Put a good parts kit and trigger in, and you are good to go.

This list might be a little dated, but you get the idea. You pay extra for the name even though its the same thing. But, when you sell, certain ones are wanted more even though they are the same.

Here is a list of who makes which lowers:

Lewis Machine & Tool

LMT
Lauer
DS Arms
PWA
Eagle
Armalite
Knights Armament
Barrett

Continental Machine Tool

Stag
Rock River Arms
High Standard
Noveske
Century (New)
Global Tactical
CLE
S&W
MGI
Wilson Tactical
Grenadier Precision
Colt

LAR Manufacturing

LAR
Bushmaster
Ameetec
DPMS
CMMG
Double Star
Fulton Armory
Spike's Tactical

JVP

Double Star
LRB
Charles Daly

Mega Machine Shop

Mega
GSE
Dalphon
POF
Alexander Arms