• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

AR-15 Reloading Frustrations

03psd

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 27, 2006
Oklahoma
So I have been reloading for bolt action for a couple years with decent success. Earlier this year I decided to start reloading for match quality .223 ammo for my SPR. To say its been frustrating would be a huge understatement. I am about to say to hell with it and just buy Prime or Black Hills ammo for it. Its one thing after another. Today I drive an hour to the range in hopes of a decent session with some ammo I loaded. Just about every other round would not chamber. I bought the 1x fired cases from a respected brass reseller in the PX here. It was advertised as "fully processed". Aside from the necks not be deburred or chamfered, I assumed this meant it was ready to load, which is what I did.

25.5gr 8208XBR
52gr Berger FB Target
2.2455" COAL

Please help me figure out what I need to do here. I am guessing the brass is the problem. I dont know how, or even if, it was resized. I assummed "fully processed" would include resizing and since 99.9% of .223 ammo is fired thru a gas gun, that the resizing would have been done using small base dies. Maybe I am wrong. This gun is a Noveske with WOA 1:7 SPR barrel. Its been a very good shooter with factory ammo and has not been picky as far as a "tight chamber" or anything else as far as I am concerned with any factory ammo. As you can see some bullets got jammed back into the case, others didnt and just jammed keeping the bolt from going into battery. Wha I dont understand is the cartridges arent loaded "long", they were below the 2.25" max COAL and fed from a USGI 20 rnd mag so why are they getting jammed and why is the bullet getting jammed back into the case?