• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

AR action plumb? Mounting scope?

rmiked

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Nov 8, 2023
I am new to ARs. When I mounted my scope on my REM 700, Wheeler makes an action rail bubble level to determine when the rifle is plumb with gravity. The magnet sticks to the 90 degree rails, very neat. When I mounted my scope on my Seekins SP10, I used a bubble level on the picatinney rail to determine rifle being plumb with gravity. Am I correct that ARs don’t have nice 90 degree action rails? Removing my BCG it looks like a cylindrical shape inside upper with edges that are not 90 degrees. Is the standard practice to use a level on the picatinny rail or is there a special tool (like the Wheeler action rail level) for ARs? Thanks

I mount rifle in gun vise and level the rail. While I have the little Wheeler bubble levels, I prefer a larger level for accuracy. Then level the scope on the elevation turret.

Reactions: Redlion
Be aware that it is as likely as not that when you actually shoulder the rifle, the reticle may not be level to gravity, even if it is level to the rifle. It is more important that the reticle be level as you shoot the rifle, than strictly level to the rifle.

Level the scope to the gun. Then shoulder the gun with your eyes closed. Open your eyes. Is the reticle level? Do this a dozen times or so, to prove to yourself that you do (or do not) shoulder the rifle with a level reticle. If not, adjust the scope as necessary.

Reactions: simonp