• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

AR10 Accuracy ?

rmiked

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Nov 8, 2023
I am new to ARs, just got a Seekins SP10 in 6.5 CM. Love rifle so far thru 17 shots. First day out was very windy blowing targets over repeatedly So cut session short. My hope was to have factory ammo shooting 3 shot groups under 1” at 100 yds primarily for deer hunting. Looks like that’s not gonna be a problem with 3 different factory loads under 1”; 1 as small as 9/16” group. I have been looking around this forum seeing some amazing groups. Some are custom rifles with high dollar components and hand load ammo. Some are factory ammo. There are rifles shooting 5 and 10 shot groups very small (0.3-0.4” groups). All my life I have assumed (incorrectly) that a bolt action rifle would shoot better than a gas gun. Now for bench rest shooters that may still be true. But for everything else like PRS, hunting, general target shooting, it seems the AR10 platform really is not limiting when it comes to accuracy and precision. My hat is off to the people whose technique is so repeatable to have tight 5 and 10 shot groups. Focus, nerves, good trigger control and good eyesight are all required to repeat like this. Touché

Shooting gas guns consistently is the challenge. Much easier to regularly shoot small groups with a bolt gun. Gas guns, especially AR10s that have more reciprocating mass, require a firmer hold and attention to technique IMO. That is part of the challenge and fun of shooting semiautos!

They are fun sometimes, other times a PITA. I have a Valkyrie that I cannot find a decent load for.

This is a 6.5CM I built in an Aero receiver set w a Craddock barrel. This one is fun...

Attachments

• Resized_shared_image_78963984189355.jpeg