• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

AR10 bolt operation question

rmiked

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Nov 8, 2023
I am new to ARs. I have a Seekins SP10 in 6.5 CM. The rifle seems very well made. I got the heavy barrel (0.85” OD at muzzle). My experience is with bolt actions. I’m looking at the cam pin on the BCG and watching the Utube showing the animation of the action. The question I have is related to what makes the bolt lock up tight? Or does it not? On my rem 700, it looks like one of the bolt lugs have the rear edge (rotating direction) machined with an inclined plane, making it cam forward on the action lugs, to get on the far edge surface of the action lugs, when you cycle the bolt clockwise, it cams forward. Does the AR10 do that ? There are a couple unique looking barrel extension lugs on the barrel at the 6 o’clock position. Do they make the bolt cam forward? I’m basically asking if there is not a camming action, it seems like you are relying on very precise machining and the plunger spring forward force to ensure the bolt rotates. There are no 90 degree edges colliding preventing the rotation of the bolt. Can anyone explain how that works? It works great. I’m just trying to understand how. Thanks

Reactions: Top O' Texas
Perhaps this video will help. The AR10 functions the same was as an AR15.

Pressure from the buffer spring and the mass of the buffer is what holds the bolt carrier group forward and locked in place.

Last edited:
Reactions: Top O' Texas