• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

AR10 trigger pull weight adjustment?

rmiked

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Nov 8, 2023
I’m new to ARs. I have installed a Timney Calvin Elite trigger in my REM 700 5R bolt action. REM 700 triggers are adjustable for pull weight with an adjusting screw. In watching videos of AR triggers it looks like a different setup with the pivoting hammer. Is it possible to adjust trigger pull weight without replacing the trigger springs? Or is that the only method of adjustment? I have a Seekins SP10 with a Timney trigger set from factory at 3 lbs. It’s a single stage trigger and it is crisp. I have my Calvin Elite set at 2.5 lbs and if possible would like the AR10 the same.

I’m new to ARs. I have installed a Timney Calvin Elite trigger in my REM 700 5R bolt action. REM 700 triggers are adjustable for pull weight with an adjusting screw. In watching videos of AR triggers it looks like a different setup with the pivoting hammer. Is it possible to adjust trigger pull weight without replacing the trigger springs? Or is that the only method of adjustment? I have a Seekins SP10 with a Timney trigger set from factory at 3 lbs. It’s a single stage trigger and it is crisp. I have my Calvin Elite set at 2.5 lbs and if possible would like the AR10 the same.
Drop-in triggers (TriggerTech, Timney, etc.) have some models that afford you easy adjustment be just opening the upper (slide takedown pin out, open upper) with an allen key. Component triggers can be tweaked using different springs, which is doable, but not nearly as easy as a drop-in trigger. :)