• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Are there correct way to measure AMax COL?

Datsrboi

Ninja
Minuteman
Oct 15, 2011
DFW,TX USA
I am new to hand load and just today I notice an issue at the run range as to why my shots were not consistent. While loading a whole new back I decided to remeasure my COL with 168 Amax and notice the reading when measuring it with my gauge were different from my first one. I grab another bullet and redid the COL and again it was off. My original friend who taught me how to reload measured me at 2.824. Today when I measured 10 of them from the same box they were anywhere from 2.820 up to 2.839. Are there any way to consistently load these rounds the same every time? I know its mainly the tip being different on every round. I am using an RCBS competition die set which loads every round I measured to from the first one. I do not want to have to COL every bullet just because the tip is not 100% the same as the first one.

Sorry if all this sounds confusing. I am new and still learning on correct words to explain this.

Re: Are there correct way to measure AMax COL?