• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Ares BTR 4.5-27 vs Midas Tac 6-24

Which?

• Total voters

spife7980

Luchador
Minuteman
Feb 10, 2017
Central TX
What I thought was pertinent info ended up being too much info.

Which one of the two listed for 550 bucks?

Some applicable quotes
There's nothing "cheap" about Athlon scopes. I've been beating them up for 3 years now. I'm on my 3rd Cronus, using the BTR version now.

The Midas TAC is an awesome scope. I have the 4-16x on one of my rifles and love it. I passed it down to my son who is taking interest in shooting matches with me. I have a friend who bought the 6-24x and is placing top-3 at a lot of local/regional matches with his.

I feel it would be an excellent choice for your friend to consider with the described usage you laid out above. FFP, true ZS, capped wind knob, bright glass, great reticle, very audible and clicky turrets etc. I couldn't be happier with mine for the price.

Athlon guys came from Bushnell, know and stand by their optics. Good luck!
If he likes the reticle in the Talos BTR then the Ares BTR would be very similar. There's four of them among friends and they have worked well. I was just using mine on my 4.5-27/223AI yesterday. For the money - the sale price, it's a fine scope.

I like the turrets more on the TAC's I own but prefer the nice .2 reticle in the Ares BTR but the turrets on the Ares BTR are decent as is.

We have small steel behind bigger steel at a friends place and the only rifle and scope combo I've cleaned the small steel with is that Ares BTR 4.5-27x50. These things track well.
I was/am an Athlon detractor for the most part and even I own a Midas Tac. As long as you temper expectations, I don’t think there is a better sub $500 value.