• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Arken SH4 4-16x (surprised)

HorribleAim

Private
Minuteman
Apr 17, 2019
Ohio
I reluctantly bought an Arken SH4 4-16x (https://www.arkenopticsusa.com/onli...d-Reticle-with-Zero-Stop-34mm-Tube-p262200363) a few weeks back for $400. I use the word "reluctantly" because I rarely cheap out on optics or buy anything Chinese, regardless of price. After some testing and comparing, I gotta say, I'm impressed.

For context, I'm comparing this to a handful of various Trijicon (Credo, ACOG) and Vortex (Razor, Viper PST Gen II) optics, along with "go-to" budget options like the SWFA fixed powers (10x standard model, 12x standard model, and a 10x HD model). I'm no expert of course but my conclusion is that this is currently the best sub-$500 optic on the market.

Pros: The scope itself feels durable and well-made. The turrets are better than any of the scopes above in terms of general feel and audibility. The reticle is solid and resembles the EBR reticle on the Viper PST Gen II, the only downside being a limited area of illumination. The glass itself is slightly better than the PST Gen II but certainly not Razor quality. FFP and zero stop are both nice.
Cons: You need a throw lever; adjusting magnification can be a pain. Most importantly, it's made in China. There is certainly a changing dynamic with optics coming from there (practically every entry- and mid-tier manufacturer these days has offerings made in China) and I do sense that the quality gap is shrinking, but it's still made in China.

Curious if anyone else has bought one of these lately or what your experiences have been. I'm considering swapping out my old SWFAs for a few.