• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Armalite AR/10 in .260 Rem

jwolf

Private
Minuteman
Feb 21, 2012
Anyone have experiance with this gun? My local gun shop has one coming in next week. I have first dibbs on it. I can buy it for $1725 out the door. I guess that is a fair price given the current buying frenzy. I was wondering if anyone can tell me if the mags can take Berger VLDs close to the lands. My guess is not. I shoot 140gr. in my 6.5X284 bolt gun. It's a long action so the mag is fairly long.

If I were you, I would pass on this. I would save some more money and look at a custom regardless of the wait. IF it is an A model, rather than B model it might be worth it. And I say that only to have something due to pending legislation. I have no experience with an Armalite in .260 but do have one of their .308s. To put it kindly, in .308 they give it a generous chamber. You're not getting one of the best triggers, you're probably not getting anything but an A2 stock. The barrel probably isn't threaded. You're not getting a chamber cut to what you want to work with. If you stop and add up what all those extras end up costing you, it's easy to see getting something else that comes with a better accuracy guarantee is a better idea. BO,CO

They dont do a A and B in the 260 guns. I dont know about the VLDs but a lot of people shoot 142 match kings and the like with decent results.

It probably wont shoot as well as a GAP10 but that is normal for a gun that costs 1000 dollars less or more

They dont do a A and B in the 260 guns. I dont know about the VLDs but a lot of people shoot 142 match kings and the like with decent results.

It probably wont shoot as well as a GAP10 but that is normal for a gun that costs 1000 dollars less or more