• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Ask manufacturer to requote?

godofthunder

Sergeant
Supporter
Commercial Supporter
Minuteman
Oct 2, 2013
Nebraska
www.rustynutsdesigns.com
Interested in what people with more experience than I have to say on this. A quick backstory, with theoretical numbers for making it easy:

I designed a couple products and have sent them out to quote. This is my first dive in to outsourcing products in my attempt to grow my business, however I am familiar with the process as I'm an engineer that sends things out for quote all the time for my day job. Shop #1 is not local to me, while shop #2 is. I prefer to stay local if possible so I can meet people in person, and work through the prototyping phase together to cut down iterations which in turn keeps costs down.

For item #1:
  • Shop #1 quoted $40/ea to my door - price includes one time programming cost and tooling fee, so price will go down after initial order (not by much).
  • Shop #2 quoted 50% higher, at $60/ea. Price does not include programming cost and tooling fee, so price will stay the same subsequent orders.
For item #2 (a much more expensive, labor involved product):
  • Shop #1 does not have capabilities to manufacture.
  • Shop #2 does have capabilities, and is working on quoting the project.