• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Rifle Scopes Athlon Argos vs DMR vs Nightforce Benchrest

I am Barabbas

Private
Minuteman
Nov 4, 2017
I am new to Mil and higher magnification optics. A year and a half ago I put together an AR 15 with WOA Varmint upper with 20 inch barrel for the purpose of shooting at longer distances. I opted with a budget scope at the time and chose an Athlon Argos BTR 6x24 with Mil APMR Reticle. I have used that scope out to 500 yards and it has performed well and allowed me to begin to learn to shoot at distance.

About six months I began considering upgrading my scope and began scouring the shooting forums and eventually ended up here on the Hide. I've been looking at different optics and have developed analysis paralysis like so many others. I'm in fly over country so my access to scopes is limited so it is difficult for me to play with different brands to see what works for me. A friend has been down this road already so I bounce ideas and ask questions of him frequently. Last week he suggested that I take a couple of his scopes to test. He happened to have a Bushnell DMR and a Nightforce Benchrest 12x46. Since both are on Larue QD mounts it was a great offer for trial and testing so I took him up on his offer and picked the scopes up this morning.