• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

atholon vs vortex

kramster

Private
Minuteman
Nov 18, 2020
I was hoping someone could put some real world experience to help my comparison. Can anyone do a glass to glass comparison of the vortex vs athlon glass? something like "diamondback tactical is around the same clarity as the athlon argos. The viper pst is similar glass to the athlon midas./ the razor uhd is similar to athlon unobtaineum" or whatever the case may be? I have limited experience but have looked through quite a bit of vortex glass so I am trying to determine if I should go with a long range scope from athlon this time. If you have experience, add in any other glass you might have used that could be useful comparisons

To my eye and having looked through a lot of glass it’s very hard to beat the Athlon Cronus until you’re in a significantly higher price bracket.

Reactions: Gohring65
When you're done comparing people's subjective opinions on the glass then check the robustness of the build, and the warranty.

Reactions: FuhQ and Jgault
When you're done comparing people's subjective opinions on the glass then check the robustness of the build, and the warranty.
This was my end result, I have more than a few dead scopes on the garage wall as decorations because the warranty was terrible, Vortex will fix or replace just about anything at no cost to you, they have replaced one scope of mine and repaired another, in both cases it was accidental damage in the woods caused by me. I think their glass is very good, I haven’t looked through another scope at the same price point and thought this is clearly superior.

Also remember that if you're a vet/mil/le and have an account at EuroOptic Vortex gives you 40% off retail.

Reactions: FuhQ