• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

PRS Talk Average match fee

Lesco Brandon

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
May 1, 2018
I’m new to PRS and my local PRS matches are $90 for single day and $250 for 2 day competitions.

Coming from a background of $20 matches this is obviously a bit of a shock.

Without sounding douchy
1) what’s the average cost per match in your area
2) why are these matches significantly more expensive

$50-60 one day match 10 stages usually meal included. Not sure why a 2 day jumps up to $250-$275 maybe having to pay RO,s. All of our one day matches are self ROed

$50-60 one day match 10 stages usually meal included. Not sure why a 2 day jumps up to $250-$275 maybe having to pay RO,s. All of our one day matches are self ROed
The amount of work and cost to do a 2 day versus a 1 day. Much bigger range and likely range rental fees. More targets. More indicators. Shirts. Catering. All the admin time you dont have for a normal 1 day like sponsors and ROs etc etc

$35-40 for local matches in New England (Minuteman Precision Rifle League)

$75-100 for club matches (most are 10 stages, lunch provided, nice trophies)
$250-285 for 2-day (2 lunches, sometimes dinner, nice trophies, shirts, etc)

I refuse to shoot the $90 one-day matches in Ohio, there are two places within the same driving distance from me that offer them for $30. I'll shoot those for practice/data collection to get ready for the two-day matches (around $275). I understand there are people willing to pay $90 and prefer the one-day format offered at that price point, but for what I use the one-day matches for I can't justify the cost.

Simple... Because the market is willing to pay it. If people wouldn't pay 275 they wouldn't be able to charge it

Reactions: RS14