• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

AWSM .300WM then .338LM?

KiwiShtr

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 3, 2009
Advance, MO.
Hi All.
Ive been looking into a new AWSM. Im relatively new to LOONG Range shooting. Originally I was going to go with 338LM, But after looking at the cost of Ammo, its a little daunting (reloading isnt an option at the moment). So this is the plan I came up with.

Go with the AWSM in 300WM, do all the shooting/practise I can afford in this caliber (1/4 the cost of 338LM). Then when ability increases. Change out the barrel, Bolt and Mags to 338LM. (Anyone know the rough cost of Barrel/Bolt for AWSM338?)

Does this sound like a reasonable plan to any of you? I dont like buying things twice so want a good quality rifle to begin with, so I know its me thats making mistakes, not the rifle.

Any input/views or ideas you all might have woul be greatly appreciated.
Cheers.
Dean.

Re: AWSM .300WM then .338LM?

You got the right idea. I have the AWSM in 338 LM and a semi custom Remy in 300 win mag. But in the future, I plan to get a barrel and bolt, then I will have two guns.

IIRC you are looking at in excess of $2000us for the parts--and that doesn't include the $1000 or so for the AI barrel change gear.

Check out the Desert Tactical. I went through the same mental gymnastics. (I want a 338LM- oh fuck, ammo super pricey. Ooh, look, a multi-caliber rifle. I can practice w/ the cheap(er) caliber and also play w/ the .338.) The cool thing about the DTA is the ability to change the calibers in 60 seconds, literally. Also, i think you can buy the DTA with both calibers (.338 and 300 wm) for less than the cost of the AWSM in a single caliber.

$2000 for a barrel and a bolt?.... HOLY CRAP!!