• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

B-14 Heavy Barreled Action

LuckyDuck

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
  • Nov 4, 2020
    Pennsylvania
    Howdy Rimfire peeps-

I was hoping to drop a quick inquiry about the Bergara B-14 Heavy Barreled Action and what the collective experience has been thus far outside of the other postings of experimenting with it. Just to explain my expectations- I've been playing around with NRL22 matches for the past 4 years using a Ruger 10/22 Target model with a Vortex Diamondback Tactical 6-24x50 scope and have had varying results but nothing egregious. Last year I purchased a Kidd Supergrade around January and added an Athlon Cronos BTR GEN 2 Scope in May during a Memorial Day sale. I just got the scope mounted to the rifle last weekend and am hoping to try to put that combo through its paces next Sunday.

Back to the Bergara- I can't help but feel an attraction to this as a bolt action product/possible trainer and was hoping folks here could share their experiences. I can't imagine that the heavier barrel profile provides much more benefit with a 22LR cartridge as compared to their standard barrel profile other than weight/balance but am open to hearing any opinions to the contrary if I'm mistaken in that. Aside from that, is there a general consensus/opinion on what the proper chassis/stock is to mount that action on?

Competitions around here are actually rather prolific- the NRL22 matches are mostly monthly with my initial shooting crew- MARS matches used to be pretty big around here in the area but PRS22 matches seem to be slowly taking more and more ground in that regard.