• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Bail out bag medical

mtm87tx

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 15, 2006
Texas
hypothetically, we carry handguns daily with our CHL, hoping that the day never comes where we have to use them, but if it did.

what are the legallitys of a non-licensed EMT/doctor administering first aid to someone suffering from gun shot wounds? There is alot that goes on in that first hour that can save a life but in todays world are you going to get sued?

I dont want to use quick clot or anything because I am not a professional nor have medical back ground but what about simple clean and pressure pads to stop excess bleeding if a family member or friend happens to get hit?

my greatest fear is helplessly standing over a loved one watching them suffer helplessly until help arrive..

what simple tools and how are the used to do what I can do help chances of survival?

i am also looking for some classes that have a hands on approach to medical attention to wounds. opinions?

Re: Bail out bag medical

Civilians giving first aid fall into the good samaritan law, and in most states you can't be prosecuted.

The american red cross first responders course isn't bad at all. You learn medical, trauma, OB and a few other areas of first response. Plus the course work isn't that long.

#1 get training

#2 you are covered by your locales good samaritan law, consult it and decide for yourself.

Alot of states have a "good sameritan" law which may cover you. Check into the laws of your state. In a nut shell, these laws generally protect those who stop to offer assistance and generally shield them (you) from liability as long as you are acting in good faith and not negligent in your actions.