• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Barrel chop? Advice requested

ccjcc81

Private
Minuteman
Jun 4, 2023
SE Texas
Hi guys, I'm new to bolt-action rifles, and I have multiple questions about barrel shortening and gunsmithing. May I trouble you to share your knowledge?

1. Who can you recommend to perform high-quality barrel shortening, bore-concentric threading, and refinishing to factory finish? Do you know of any in Houston, TX?

I want a budget-friendly bolt-action .308 with the shortest barrel possible and threaded to accept my 5/8x24 suppressor adapter and compatible with a Magpul Hunter stock. I haven't found any 16" .308s except the Talo version of the Ruger American Hunter that is Cerakoted silver. I'd rather have it black. I've seen the Ruger GSR and Mossberg MVP and I'm not really interested in those. At this point I like the Ruger American Predator, but there is no 16" variant available. If I'm going to have the barrel chopped, I think I'd like to have my suppressor adapter pinned and welded to the barrel and have it cut as short as legally possible. Is this a bad idea? I'm familiar with the ballistic disadvantages of a shorter barrel, and I've decided that I will sacrifice ballistics for handiness. This will be a rifle to learn how to use a bolt action rifle and high-powered scope, not a 1000m benchrest gun, after all. Here in SE Texas most hunting is done within 50m-300m, at least where I hunt.

I'm poor. I don't want to spend too much. Do you have any recommendations for a shop that can do this work with a reasonable turnaround time and reasonably priced? Is there any other advice you would provide?

Thank you in advance for sharing your knowledge.

This is what I want, not available.